Attention All CALA Members and Assisted Living Professionals

HCPF Proposed Medicaid Increase for Assisted Living Residences

CALA has been working with HCPF and the Joint Budget Committee to get an increase in the Medicaid rate to providers. Because of our work and that of many other interested parties, HCPF has recommended a 25% increase for the upcoming fiscal year for all Medicaid providers.

This recommended increase has yet to be approved by the legislature. The Colorado legislature begins work on the state budget (The Long Bill) on March 26th. The House of Representatives will review and approve the budget and then it will be sent over to the Senate for their review and approval. Then it is on its way to the governor.

Your help is needed in assuring that the 25% increase remains, as it works its way through the process. Each one of you need to write, email, or call the members of the House and the Senate and ask them to preserve and approve the 25% increase in the Medicaid rate for the assisted living industry.

Your message should include the following key points:
1. Let them know that you are a Medicaid provider
2. Let them know that you have not had a substantial increase in many years. Matter of fact, during lean years, the reimbursement was decreased although the providers’ expenses continued to rise.
3. Share with them how your payments have not kept ups with your expenses
4. Include the fact that with the new increases in licensing fees and with the advent of increase regulatory oversight, by CDPHE, that your costs will increase significantly
5. Tell them without the increase, the state will continue to lose Medicaid beds and increase the problem of the shortage of Medicaid beds throughout the state
6. Ask them to support the increase in the Medicaid rate

Below is the contact information for the members of the Colorado House and Senate. If you don’t know who your legislators are to go to https://leg.colorado.gov/find-my-legislator. Each member must receive a minimum of ten letters, emails, or calls asking for support of the Medicaid increase. Please copy me on all correspondence, ckyle@thekylegroup.com.

Colorado House of Representatives:

Name Telephone No. Email
Jeni Arndt 970-231-5090 jeni.arndt.house@state.co.us
Jon Becker 970-768-6500 jon.becker.house@state.co.us
KC Becker 303-866-2578 kcbecker.house@state.co.us
Susan Beckman 303-866-2953 susan.beckman.house@state.co.us
Adrienne Benavidez 303-866-2964 adrienne.benavidez.house@state.co.us
Jeff Bridges 303-866-2921 jeff.bridges.house@state.co.us
Perry Buck 970-302-4013 perrybuck49@gmail.com
Janet Buckner 303-866-2944 janet.buckner.house@state.co.us
Terri Carver 303-866-2191 terri.carver.house@state.co.us
Marc Catlin 303-866-2955 marc.catlin.house@state.co.us
James Coleman 720-297-5301 james.coleman.house@state.co.us
Phil Covarrubias 303-866-2912 phil.covarrubias.house@state.co.us
Jessie Danielson 303-866-5522 jessie.danielson.house@state.co.us
Crisanta Duran 303-866-2346 crisanta.duran.house@state.co.us
Daneya Isgar 303-866-2968 daneya.isgar.house@state.co.us
Justin Everett 303-866-2927 justin.everett.house@state.co.us
Tony Exum 719-661-4910 tony.exum.house@state.co.us
Mike Foote 303-866-2920 mike.foote.house@state.co.us
Alex Garnett 720-840-8132 alec.garnett.house@state.co.us
Joann Ginal 970-215-3063 joannginal@yahoo.com
Matt Gray 303-866-4667 matt@matthewgray.us
Millie Hamner 303-866-2952 rephamner@gmail.com
Chris Hansen 303-866-2967 chris.hansen.house@state.co.us
Leslie Herod 303-866-2959 leslie.herod.house@state.co.us
Edie Hooton 303-866-2915 edie.hooton.house@state.co.us
Stephen Humphrey 303-866-2943 rephumphrey48@yahoo.com
Dominique Jackson 303-866-3911 dominique.jackson.house@state.co.us
Chris Kennedy 303-866-2951 chris.kennedy.house@state.co.us
Tracy Kraft-Tharp 720-937-1506 reptracy29@gmail.com
Lois Landgraf 303-866-2946 lois.landgraf.house@state.co.us
Polly Lawrence 720-785-3303 polly.lawrence.house@state.co.us
Pete Lee 719-460-2834 pete.lee.house@state.co.us
Timothy Leonard 303-866-2582 tim.leonard.house@state.co.us
Kimmi Lewis 303-866-2398 kimmi.lewis.house@state.co.us
Larry Liston 719-649-9742 larry.liston.house@state.co.us
Susan Lontine 303-866-2966 susan.lontine.house@state.co.us
Paul Lundeen 303-866-2924 paul.lundeen.house@state.co.us
Hugh McKean 303-866-2947 hugh.mckean.house@state.co.us
Barbara McLachlan 303-866-2914 barbara.mclachlan.house@state.co.us
Jovan Melton 303-866-2919 jovan.melton.house@state.co.us
Jenet Michaelson 303-866-2945 dafna.michaelson.jenet.house@state.co.us
Patrick Neville 303-866-5523 patrick.neville.house@state.co.us
Dan Pabon 303-866-2954 dan.pabon.house@state.co.us
Brittany Pettersen 720-663-9389 brittany.pettersen.house@state.co.us
Bob Rankin 970-866-2949 bob.rankin.house@state.co.us
Kim Ransom 303-866-2933 kim.ransom.house@state.co.us
Judy Reyher 303-866-2905 judy.Reyher.house@state.co.us
Dylan Roberts 303-866-2923 dylan.roberts.house@state.co.us
Paul Rosenthal 303-866-2910 paulrosenthal5280@gmail.com
Lori Saine 303-866-2906 lori.saine.house@state.co.us
Joe Salazar 303-866-2918 joseph.salazar.house@state.co.us
Shane Sandridge 303-866-2965 shane.sandridge.house@state.co.us
Lang Sias 720-866-2962 lang.sias.house@state.co.us
Jonathan Singer 303-875-4727 jonathan.singer.house@state.co.us
Dan Thurlow 303-866-3068 danthurlow55@gmail.com
Donald Valdez 303-866-2916 donald.valdez.house@state.co.us
Kevin Van Winkle 303-866-2936 kevin.vanwinkle.house@state.co.us
Mike Weissman 303-866-2942 mike.weissman.house@state.co.us
Yeulin Willett 970-250-2518 yeulin.willett.house@state.co.us
Dave Williams 719-362-0899 dave.williams.house@state.co.us
Jim Wilson 719-221-8383 representativewilson@gmail.com
Faith Winter 303-866-2843 faith.winter.house@state.co.us
Cole Wist 303-866-5510 cole.wist.house@state.co.us
Dave Young 303-866-2929 dave.young.house@state.co.us

Colorado State Senate:

Name Telephone No. Email
Irene Aguilar 303-601-0955 irene.aguilar.senate@state.co.us
Randy Baumgardner 970-509-9187 randy.baumgardner.senate@state.co.us
John Cook 970-590-6820 john.cook.senate@state.co.us
Don Coram 970-596-2425 don.coram.senate@state.co.us
Lois Court 303-866-4861 lois.court.senate@state.co.us
Larry Crowder 719-850-2459 larry.crowder.senate@state.co.us
Kerry Donovan 970-279-1876 kerry.donovan.senate@state.co.us
Stephen Fenberg 303-866-4872 stephen.fenberg.senate@state.co.us
Rhonda Fields 303-866-4879 rhonda.fields.senate@state.co.us
Leroy Garcia 303-866-4878 leroy.garcia.senate@state.co.us
Bob Gardner 303-866-4880 bob.gardner.senate@state.co.us
Kevin Grantham 303-866-4877 kevin.grantham.senate@state.co.us
Lucia Guzman 720-833-8990 lucia.guzman.senate@state.co.us
Owen Hill 719-210-1086 owen.hill.senate@state.co.us
Chris Holbert 303-505-6196 chris.holber.senate@state.co.us
Cheri Jahn 303-866-4856 cheri.jahn.senate@state.co.us
Matt Jones 303-718-7510 senatormattjones@gmail.com
Daniel Kagan 303-866-4846 senatordanielkagan@gmail.com
John Kefalas 720-254-7598 john.kefalas.senate@state.co.us
Andy Kerr 720-979-4515 SenatorAndyKerr@gmail.com
Kent Lambert 719-440-9990 senatorlambert@comcast.net
Kevin Lundberg 303-866-4853 kevin@kevinlundberg.com
Vicki Marble 303-866-4876 vicki.marble.senate@state.co.us
Beth Martinez Humenik 720-507-1676 beth.martinezhumenik.senate@state.co.us
Michael Merrifield 719-460-0580 michael.merrifield.senate@state.co.us
Dominick Moreno 720-985-1132 dominick.moreno.senate@state.co.us
Tim Neville 303-798-4100 tim.neville.senate@state.co.us
Kevin Priola 303-866-4855 kpriola@gmail.com
Ray Scott 303-866-3077 ray.scott.senate@state.co.us
Jim Smallwood 303-918-5754 senatorsmallwood@gmail.com
Jerry Sonnenberg 970-581-8648 senatorsonnenberg@gmail.com
Jack Tate 303-866-4883 jack.tate.senate@state.co.us
Nancy Todd 303-596-0392 nancy.todd.senate@state.co.us
Angela Williams 303-866-4864 angela.williams.senate@state.co.us
Rachel Zenzinger 303-748-0770 senatorrachelz@gmail.com

Capitol Addresses

House Senate
Colorado State Capitol Colorado State Capitol
200 E. Colfax 200 E. Colfax
Room 307 Room 346
Denver, Colorado 80203 Denver Colorado 80203

Now is the time for you to preserve what you deserve. Contact your own representative and senator first. Then contact all the other legislators. They must hear from you on or before March 26, 2018.

If you have questions, please contact me at 303-263-5422.

Do not delay! Contact them today!

Corky Kyle, MPA. CAE
Executive Vice President
Colorado Assisted Living Association